I’ve spent the last two weekends exploring Sweetwater Creek State Park until my legs quit. Having been quite a while since I last got out into nature, it was awesome. I got up early (for me, at least), brought some coffee in a thermos, and had my morning coffee creek-side before the air warmed.

While exploring, I found myself intrigued by the little details in nature, and wanted to capture them somehow. I’ve always loved photography for its ability to remove something from its context and implicitly force a certain perspective. So, I decided to give it a go with my phone camera.

By getting my lens up close to the ground, trunks, and whatever else caught my eye, I felt I was able to establish a kind of landscape constructed from that which is small but put into a perspective which empowers and enlarges it. The palette of fall leaves also caught my eyes, and my pictures from a distance aim to frame the trees and color across a larger open space.

These hikes renewed my love of nature and remind me of our context in the natural world: not something placed into it, but rather as real a part of it as the moss and the leaves.

Processed with VSCO
My first closeup of my first hike. After seeing the moss take on an entirely new presence when framed like this, I was inspired to dive into repeating this perspective.
Processed with VSCO
The beauty of fungus is entirely underrated.
Processed with VSCO
Altered perspectives allow us to show nature in a different kind of space.
Processed with VSCO
The leaves give up their cool colors.
Processed with VSCO
Life sprouts from a long-dead log.
Processed with VSCO
Moss becomes mountains.
Processed with VSCO
One of my favorites, like looking up rolling hills.
Processed with VSCO
My friend and roommate Charlie joined me on my second hike – far.
Processed with VSCO
My friend and roommate Charlie joined my on my second hike – near.
