Now this project wasn’t a very complex one, but fun, easy, and delivers a really cool and practical result.

When I was browsing audiophile gear on the internet one day, I spotted a headphone stand that cost upwards of $70. I loved the idea of an aesthetically pleasing headphone stand, but never was I going to shell out that much for something so simple. I then realized I could easily draw up a 2-dimensional CAD design and laser cut a very similar stand for just a few dollars worth of plywood and 20 minutes in the Invention Studio here at Georgia Tech.

Before I hopped on the computer and drew up the final profile, I did a quick bit of ideating for different possible side profiles.

headphone-stand-ideas

I decided on the last one, then drew up a proper CAD sketch for the profile of the stand, as well as the connecting joint pieces. The design was to have two of the large profile pieces be joined in the slots with two of the connectors, creating a simple stand with a great DIY feel to it. Plus I can never resist the look (and smell) of laser cut wood.

Profile:

profile

Connector:

joint

I had to make a few iterations with minor changes, as the kerf of the laser ended up making my friction-fit slots just a little bit too wide. Ideally these will be able to stay together and support themselves with just the friction from the slot fits. Making the cuts themselves is very easy. Just a power setting and a speed setting are all you need! The 1/4″ plywood is about as thick as you can comfortably go on these lasers, and required 3 passes of the laser to cut all the way through.

iterations

After a few changes (and a whole piece of sacrificial plywood to get the measurements just right), two final products were cut! One for me, and one for a friend who loved the idea of a $2 headphone stand!

cutter-shot

On my desk in action:

on-desk

